Black Bean Soup with Cumin + Jalapeno

We’re finally in October.  And It’s fall.  Though I’m a summer gal, I’m starting to appreciate what fall has to offer.

Black Bean Soup with Cumin + Jalapeno

Adapted from Bon Appetit, August 2004

Author Note:  I felt that this soup wasn’t spicy enough so I added the entire jalapeño pepper into the soup.  Also, I added Colby jack cheese, avocado,  sour cream and tortilla chips as my topping but feel free to add whatever you want.  I think a Mexican cheese would work in this soup other than feta.

To make this soup vegetarian, swap the chicken broth with vegetable broth instead.

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
4 garlic cloves, chopped
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 to 2 teaspoons chopped jalapeño chile with seeds, divided
2 15- to 16-ounce cans black beans, undrained
1 15-ounce can petite diced tomatoes in juice
1 1/2 cups low-salt chicken broth or (vegetable broth to make vegetarian soup)

Chopped fresh cilantro

Chopped green onions

Crumbled feta cheese

Heat oil in heavy large pot over medium-high heat. Add onion, carrot, and garlic; sauté until vegetables begin to soften, about 6 minutes. Mix in cumin and 1 teaspoon jalapeño. Add beans, tomatoes with juice, and broth; bring soup to boil. Reduce heat to medium, cover, and cook until carrots are tender, about 15 minutes. Transfer 3 cups of soup to blender and puree until smooth. Return puree to pot. Simmer soup until slightly thickened, about 15 minutes. Season to taste with salt, pepper, and remaining 1 teaspoon jalapeño, if desired.

Ladle soup into bowls. Pass cilantro, green onions, and feta cheese separately.

One thought on “Black Bean Soup with Cumin + Jalapeno

  1. Nicolas

    Howdy just came upon your website via Google after
    I typed in, “Black Bean Soup with Cumin + Jalapeno | HOOKEDONTASTE” or perhaps
    something similar (can’t quite remember exactly). In any case, I’m glad I found it because your subject material is exactly what
    I’m looking for (writing a college paper) and I hope you don’t mind if I gather some material from here and
    I will of course credit you as the reference. Thanks for your
    time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

