Carrot Ginger Soup

Happy Friday everyone!

It’s been a little over two weeks since blogged but its feels great to be back.  I would be lying if I said I was busy but I wasn’t.  Actually I found a new hobby.  I recently learned how to sew.  One weekend I asked my mom If she can teach how to sew a skirt and she agreed to teach me.  I’m glad I asked because it’s experience that I will always remember.  So I’ve been obsessed with sewing own my own clothes lately.

Well that’s what I’ve been up to the past week but lets talk about this carrot ginger soup that I’ve made.  I had bag carrots that’s been sitting in my fridge for a while so I decided to make this soup for a quick-lunch/dinner.

Who knew ginger and carrots goes so well.  If I known about the ginger carrot combination, I’ve would have made this soup a long time ago. I’m crazy about ginger as I’m crazy for sriracha.  I’m crazy about other things too but I won’t talk about them on here.

This soup so creamy without the added cream and it’s comforting.  And I don’t have to feel bad eating this soup because I know im eating something that’s good for my body.

Carrot Ginger Soup

Adapted from EatLiveRun

 I added a small onion and garlic to the soup since I didn’t have a shallot on hand.  I also added some ground cumin for taste.  I’m a sucker for cilantro, so I garnish my soup with it instead of green onions.  Despite my changes, I’m still posting the original recipe down below.

1 lb carrots, peeled and chopped

2 T minced fresh ginger

1 shallot, minced

2 cups vegetable or chicken broth

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp coriander

1 T olive oil

thinly sliced green onions for topping

Heat the olive oil over medium high heat. Add the minced shallot and sauté until tender, about five minutes. Add the ginger and sauté for another three-four minutes.

Add the chopped carrots, broth, coriander and salt and bring to a boil.

Reduce heat to simmer and cook for 10-15 minutes until carrots are tender. Carefully transfer to a blender and purée.  Serve with thinly sliced green onions on top.

One comment

Leave a Reply

