Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies

Do you remember your first baking experience?  Well I do.  I was elementary school when I first learned how to bake.  While I was in elementary school I would bring home weekly book catalogs.  Out of all the books my mom ordered for me, it was the dinosaur book that I remember the most.  It was a thin green book with pictures on every page. The book wasn’t memorable because of the amazing narrative or amazing pictures.  To be honest, I don’t even remember what the book was about, but I do remember  it came with a surprise. At the end of the book there was a cookie recipe and it came with cookie cutters.

Showing my mom the book, she agreed to help me make the cookies and I was thrilled. Through that experience I learned my way around the kitchen.  I learned how to measure things, which came in handy for school.   I also learned how to follow instructions.  Without learning the cooking basics I wouldn’t be the cook that I am today.

I tried to look up the book to get a hold of the dinosaur cookie recipe but instead I chose this sugar cookie recipe because it reminded me of the cookies that I made with my mother.  Most sugar cookies contain butter, but this recipe uses vegetable oil.  I was skeptical how the cookies would taste with the oil, but it tasted great.  Actually the cookies tasted buttery or maybe my taste buds are little off.

So here is my question to you:  When was your first cooking/baking experience?

Old Fashion Sugar Cookies

Adapted from EatLiveRun via Gourmet 

4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla extract (or almond extract)

2 eggs,  beaten

Preheat oven at 375 degree F.

Combine granulated sugar and powdered sugar; then add the vegetable oil, vanilla (or almond) extract, salt, eggs and baking soda. Whisk well to combine. Add the flour and stir. The dough will be semi-dry. Roll out ping-pong sized balls of dough on a lined baking sheet. Press each dough ball with a fork and sprinkle with sugar. Bake for eight minutes.

Leave a Reply

