Zucchini Bread + French Toast

As your fellow blogger, I don’t want post recipes that were a success or I thought were great.  I want post the good, the bad, and ugly. Some of you may wonder, whats the point of posting a recipe that wasn’t any good.  Or maybe think there is no  point trying a disaster recipe when the author didn’t like it.  Well, there is reason for me to do so.    Behind those pretty pictures you see on here, a catastrophe happened in the kitchen.  This blog isn’t just place where I post great recipes, but it’s about the experience and journey.  Whether I tried something new or conquering  a fear. With that being said, I don’t want to discourage you all.  Even if I didn’t like something, I’m hoping somebody will find this or another recipe fantastic.

So, about the zucchini bread.  I’ve had better zucchini bread before but I think I’m going to change some of the ingredients.  Maybe adding butter instead of vegetable oil, some raisins, and nuts.   Also, I’m a huge fan Deb of Smitten Kitchen and she never disappointed me until now.  I also read the great reviews on this recipe, but for some reason it was a miss for me.  I’m really trying to like this bread, but I can’t. I think I’ll try to make this again and see if my opinion changed.

Because I didn’t like the bread I turn it into french toast.  I know it sounds strange, but I didn’t want to toss the bread away.  I hate the of wasting of food.   Like any other french toast, you dip bread into a custard, fry until golden brown, and pour maple syrup over.  Pure heaven.

Zucchini Bread

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

3 eggs

1 cup olive or vegetable oil

1 3/4 cup sugar

2 cups grated zucchini

2 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups all-purpose flour

3 tsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)

1 cup dried cranberries, raisins, or chocolate chips or combination (optional)

Preheat oven at 350 degrees F.  Grease and flour 2 8×4 loaf pans or line 24 muffin cups with liners.

In a large bowl, beat eggs and mix in oil, sugar, zucchini, and vanilla.

In an another bowl, add flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda baking powder, and salt.  If using nuts or cranberries, raisins, or chocolate chips, now is the time to add them.

Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients(egg mixture) and divide the batter into the prepared greased pans.

Bake for 60 minutes, plus or minus 10, or until a tester comes out clean. Muffins will bake for 20-25 minutes.

Zucchini Bread French toast

1 loaf zucchini bread

4 large eggs

2/3 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

 ground cinnamon for taste

butter

Slice the bread an 1/2 to 1 inch thick. In a bowl whisk eggs, milk, vanilla, a cinnamon together.

 Melt a 1 tablespoon of butter in pan.   Coat the bread slices in the custard and place in the frying pan.  Fry until golden brown on each sides.  Serve while its hot.

One comment

Leave a Reply

