Raspberry Oat Crumble Bars

Happy Easter!! I hope everyone is enjoying their weekend.  This Thursday I went to see The Hunger Games.  Although I have not read the book, I thought the film was amazing.  The movie was about two hours long and for a film to be that long, I didn’t notice the time.  After the movie was over, I sat in the theater unsatisfied because I wanted more.  I sensed that there is going to be sequel because how the movie ended.  I highly recommend this movie, you have to see it.

After watching The Hunger Games, I had a urged to bake.  I have a huge tub of old fashion oats and haven’t touch it until the spring semester.  I have brainstormed the possible ways that can use oats.  I thought chocolate chip oatmeal cookies and crisps, but I came across a recipe from 17andbaking and I knew I had to give it a try.

Taking Elissa and Gourmet suggestions, the final product of these bars are delicious.  Many people thought the bars were too sweet, but I thought they were perfect.  Even perfect for breakfast or a snack (maybe a not so healthy snack).

Although this recipe calls for raspberry jam, you can you use any other jam or preservatives that you like.  I happen to like raspberry preserves so it worked well for me.  I think the next time I will try to use fresh raspberries, but have to wait until raspberries reached their sweetness.

Author Note:

Elissa from 17andbaking mentions that she decreased the amount of sugar from the original recipe, because the raspberry bars were way too sweet.  I also went to Gourmet’s website to see if there were any other suggestions.  A few people on the Gourmet’s website noted to use a sugar-free jam.  I also want to note that I had a difficult time spreading the jam, so heating it for a few seconds may help you spread the jam evenly.  I included the original website for these bars if you wanted to compare and to see the original ingredients.

Raspberry Oat Crumble Bars

From 17andbaking via Gourmet 

1 1/4 cups flour
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
5 oz (10 tablespoons) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 tablespoon milk
1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup seedless raspberry jam (I used sugar-free raspberry preserves)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Mix the flour, sugar, and salt in the bowl of a food processor, then add the butter and pulse until a dough starts to form. Blend in the milk.  Transfer the dough to a bowl and knead in the oats until well combined.

Put 3/4 cup dough off to the side (this will be used as the crumble.) Press the rest of the dough evenly into a buttered 9×9″ metal baking pan. Spread the jam evenly over the top and crumble the reserved dough evenly over the top.

Bake in the center of the oven until golden, 20-25 minutes, and cool completely in the pan on a rack. Use a knife to loosen the sides, lift it out, and cut into bars on a cutting board.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

