Fresh Apple Cake

I had my eyes on this recipe for a while and I couldn’t wait to make it.  Matter of fact I have a list of things that I want to try.  This is one of them, but I know it will take me a few months or even years to complete my “wishlist”.

When I was making this cake, I felt like I was doing something wrong.  I thought I written out the wrong measurements of the ingredients.  After double checking to make sure I was doing everything correctly, I felt better.  The batter is dough like and I was curious on how the cake would bake.  Not only I was worried about the measurements, but I was worried that I might over bake the cake.  The cake looked perfectly baked, but the recipe stated to bake for an hour.

 Either ending up with that was dry and over baked  or leave the cake in the oven for the full hour.  So, I  decided to take a risk and followed the recipe given cooking time.  After the cake finished baking, the cake turned out how it was supposed to be.  The cake exterior is crackled, moist, and very sweet.  The only change I would make is to use granny smith apples and less sugar, but overall a good cake.

Whisk melted butter, eggs, and vanilla.

Coat apples with the dry ingredients.

Pour in the egg mixture in the dry ingredients.

Mix well with your hands.  This what the batter should look like.

Grease your pan and place the batter into the pan.

Serve it with ice cream or eaten by itself.  If your like me, I like a glass milk with my cake.

Fresh Apple Cake

From 17andbaking

Makes a single layer cake

4 cups chopped peeled apples (large chunks)

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup melted butter

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven at 350 degrees F.

In a small bowl, whisk the eggs, melted butter, and vanilla together.  Then sit aside.

In another bowl, combine dry ingredients.  Add the chopped peeled apples and mix so the apples are coated with the dry ingredients.  Pour in the wet ingredients(egg mixture) with the dry ingredients and mix well with your hands.

Place in a greased pan and bake for 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

